Abolition of the green card car insurance certificate on April 1, 2024

From April 1, 2024, the green card is abolished for registered vehicles.

Instead of the green card, when you take out your car insurance contract or when you change your vehicle, your insurer will give you an “Vehicle Memo” which will serve as proof of insurance for the first 15 days.

It will also be made available by your insurer in your ‘Espace client’.

In France, any owner of a land motor vehicle (car, motorcycle, vans, etc.) is required to be insured for civil liability in order to travel. This guarantee, granted from the third-party car insurance formula, aims to cover unintentional damage that you could cause to third parties, in particular if:

  • you hit another vehicle;
  • you hit a pedestrian;
  • you destroy street furniture.

Good to know: the green card is maintained for unregistered vehicles, such as motorized personal transport vehicles (Electric scooters, etc.).

The FVA: the law enforcement control tool

In the event of a roadside check, the police will be able to check your insurance by directly consulting the national file of insured vehicles (you will be able to check the correct registration of your vehicle online from the beginning of April on the website https://www.fva-assurance.fr. fr or by calling 01 83 64 32 22),

 What if you drive abroad?

The registration plate constitutes a presumption of insurance in 35 countries, mainly located in Europe: Austria, Principality of Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Spain , Estonia, Finland, United Kingdom, Strike, Hungary, Croatia, Italy, Ireland, Iceland, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia and Serbia . Your vehicle registered in France can enter these countries without having to present proof of insurance.

However, you will need to present a printed and up-to-date international car insurance card when entering the following countries: Albania, Azerbaijan, Morocco, Moldova, North Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey and Ukraine. It is made available by your insurer in your ‘Espace Client’.